You wouldn't trust a skinny chef, and I'm drunk as hell

Super Easy Mixed Berry Jam

Alright so here we go, the worlds easiest jam.

All you need is

  1. Any fruit you want
  2. Sugar
  3. Lemon Juice

Optional : Liquid Pectin

Read how to after the jump

Mixed berry jam

A lot of people are turned off from making their own jam for some reason. It seems to be the sort of thing that is delegated to old magazines with pineapple upside down cakes and maraschino cherry galore. But I don’t see why, everyone eats jam, and this recipe makes a jam that tastes better than anything I have bought from a shop.

Before we start I must note that because I go through this so quickly, I don’t bother canning it to be stored for months and months. Because I eat it all. This recipe can be very easily adapted for long term storage, google is your friend.

I use this for both eating, as a baking ingredient and in cocktails. This post, however is about the jam, so if you want to learn how to make this tasty looking cocktail below, you’re just going to have to subscribe and wait for me to show you how to make it. And yes that drink is served in a tiny jam jar. I know right?! I’m a genius.

Recipe follows the photos.

So all you need to do is take a bunch of mixed berries. Whatever you have, whatever is in season is good.

You could even use frozen berries, I have and it worked just fine.

I have strawberries, raspberries, blackberries and blueberries.

On a side note, aren’t blueberries fricking weird, they look like apples in the middle!

Anyway chop your fruit up pretty fine and put it in a box.

Any box doesn’t matter.

Give it a shake so all the fruit settles and then mark a line where the fruit goes up too.

Add your fruit into a saucepan.

Then fill the container up to the same line with sugar.

I know it seems like a lot of sugar, but we are making a jam here. Not a salad.

Add the sugar to a saucepan.

Next add some lemon juice. About a double shot, it doesn’t really matter too much, you can scale it up the more you make.

Turn your hob onto medium heat. You do not need to add any water.

It looks like a bit of a mess at first….

But after a couple of minutes the sugar will dissolve and it will look goopy and delicious.

Bring to a rolling boil.

Boil for 10-15 minutes, stirring pretty regularly.

10 minutes will set the nicest but 15 will be thicker.

After that take it off the heat and you are done. If any weird pink stuff has floated to the top just scoop it off.

You can now if you like add a tablespoon of liquid pectin, and that will set it no problem even if you massively screwed up.

I didn’t however and mine set just fine.

Allow to cool for at least an hour or two.

Then put in whatever containers you have available and there you go done! Took about 20 minutes.

Super easy, tastes amazing.

See you on sunday for another drinks post!

Liam

2 responses

  1. Awesome piece on jam. The pictures are great. Mind if I ask what camera you’re shooting with?

    24 February, 2012 at 3:08 AM

Leave a comment