You wouldn't trust a skinny chef, and I'm drunk as hell

Raspberry & White Chocolate Muffins With Chambord Glace Icing

These white chocolate and raspberry muffins are a decadent treat suitable for any occasion, whether it be a party or just a snack to have on hand. They look fantastic and are pretty gosh darn easy to make. This was actually the first request post I’ve made, so here you go.

Read more after the break

A very good old friend of mine sent me a message asking if I could do a post about raspberry & chocolate muffins. A quick glance at my foodpairing dictionary (soon to come up on my bar books series) tells me that white chocolate and raspberry are a classic combination. So thus I will make. To add a little fancy boozy touch, I made an icing out of chambord, a vanilla and black raspberry liqueur from France. The recipe from the muffins I adapted from here and here.

I have a bit of a confession to make, I don’t actually like white chocolate. I find it a little too sweet for my palate and there’s something about dark chocolate that I just like (see my post on dark chocolate and angostura truffles here.) However, in this recipe, the tartness of the raspberries cuts through the richness of the white chocolate to make an actually delicious, if slightly rich muffin.

I gave a couple to my friends to take home with them.. within a couple of hours I received the following.

“Your muffins was delicious! It was muffilicious… Mufficious… Delicimuff…???”

Not so sure about that, I think my noun compounding habits may be rubbing off people in the wrong way 😉 .

Anyway, as it proved relatively popular last time, I decided to post pictures of the finished product first. Recipe below.

White Chocolate and Raspberry Muffins with Chambord Glace Icing:

For the Muffins:

300g All purpose Flour
100g Butter
200ml  Milk
1 Tbsp Baking Powder
2 Eggs
200g Caster Sugar
150g Raspberries
100g White Chocolate

For the Glace Icing:

50g Icing Sugar (Roughly)
1 Tbsp Chambord

Sift the flour and baking powder into a large bowl.

Add your sugar.

In a separate bowl, whisk together your eggs and milk.

Melt your butter, I just popped it into a microwave for a minute or so.

Stir this into your egg and milk mixture.

Then add your wet ingredients to your dry ingredients and stir to combine.

Be careful not to over mix at this stage, just when it looks like it is about to come together you are done.

Like this.

Roll your fruit in a very small amount of flour, this prevents them from sinking to the bottom during the baking process and remain distributed evenly throughout. Top tip right there. Add into your mix.

Chop your white chocolate roughly.

Add most of it to your mix. Save a little bit for garnish. Try not to eat it.

Stir to incorporate nicely, then ladle into your cupcake er.. whatjamacallems. Not tins.. papers? Or your silicone baking equipment, like these muffin sets I have.

Bake for 15-20 minutes at 200 degrees C or until golden and cooked through.

Let them cool for as long as you can bare before consuming.

Whilst they cool, lets make the icing.

Just do this by eye, no measurements are really required.

Put some icing sugar into a bowl, then add a tiny amount of your liqueur, if it’s not enough, add some more, if too much, add some more sugar. Easy. You can use any liquid too, if you want a non alcoholic version, just press some raspberries through a fine sieve and use that instead.

I have a bit of a confession to make, because I am a bit of a perfectionist, the first set of photos came out a little too pale so i used campari in the glaze instead of chambord because I didn’t have any red food colouring. Call it my lack of a sweet tooth, or maybe just my love for campari… But I loved them! The citrussy bittersweet elements of the campari cut right through these rich muffins.

I’m just a fiend for campari.. stick to making them with chambord or a creme de framboise or something.

The glaze just looks like it should hold its shape.

Drip artfully over the top of the muffin, pop into the fridge for a minute or so to set and cool a little further.

Add your reserved chocolate on top and arrange as artfully as possible.

Then eat as many as you can stomach.

Then feel bad about yourself.

Then eat some more, there there it’s ok it looks too good not to eat.

Cheers guys, see you next week.

Feel free to email and twitter as usual.

Liam.

4 responses

  1. Tea & Sympathy

    WOW!!! that is a high class treat!! Love your blog. It looks like you might love cakes and baking as much as we do! We’re asking people to submit their dream British-inspired cupcake flavors atm. If u have the time, pls enter here: http://wp.me/p1FPR6-jH, or on twitter @TeaAndSympathy… Thanks!x

    4 February, 2012 at 9:37 PM

  2. Chambord icing is genius.

    5 February, 2012 at 10:57 PM

  3. Pingback: Smoky brie & cherry tomato focaccia, in lieu of summer « Two Spoons

Leave a comment